Follow : Facebook Twitter Linkdin A+ A A-

01283 564934

Denstone given boost with limit

Monday 17th February 2014 (Andrew Griffiths)
Denstone given boost with limit


VILLAGERS are celebrating the speed limit being reduced on a country lane where motorists were posing a danger to children on their way to school.

Highways chiefs have confirmed they will be imposing a permanent 40mph limit along the B5030 running through Denstone.

Scores of parishioners had contacted Uttoxeter MP Andrew Griffiths with their concerns that motorists were driving too fast along Stubwood Lane.

And now Staffordshire County Council has confirmed it will move to reduce the limit on Stubwood Lane.

County council chief executive Nick Bell said: “These are long-standing concerns which have been raised with us previously through the parish council.

“The B5030 pinch point scheme has provided an opportunity to progress these matters further.

“The new proposed limits will cover Station Road and Hollington Road from the B5030 to a point past the Stubwood Lane junction as well as Stubwood Lane from the Hollington Road junction to the existing 30mph speed limit at Stubwood.

“Formal consultation on these proposals will be undertaken shortly, with the intention of them coming into force once the current temporary speed limits lifted.”

Andrew Griffiths said: “I’m really pleased the county council has listeneed to the concerns of local residents and implemented these measures so quickly.

“I’ve no doubt that, as a result, villagers and motorists will be safer, which has to be a good thing.

“There was great concern about the cars and commercial vehicles speeding down this road and there was a real risk of accidents – or even worse.

“A number of residents contacted me with their concerns, which I then took to the council.”

Highways chiefs are also installing a roundabout near Denstone Church to ease traffic through the village.

This website is paid for through privately-raised funds and is not funded through any parliamentary allowances or other taxpayers' money