Follow : Facebook Twitter Linkdin A+ A A-

01283 564934

MP and Chancellor among winners at beer group dinner

Wednesday 17th July 2013 (Andrew Griffiths)
MP and Chancellor among winners at beer group dinner

BURTON MP Andrew Griffiths has been presented with a prestigious award for his work for the brewery industry.

The MP was presented with a special award for his campaigning on the beer duty escalator and ‘exceptional devotion’ by the Campaign for Real Ale (CAMRA) and the Society of Independent Brewers (SIBA).

Mr Griffiths received the Honorary Life Fellowship of the Beer Group.

He was presented with the award, which included a certificate and a hand engraved tasting flute, at the All-Party Parliamentary Beer Group dinner.

Mr Griffiths told the Mail: “It was completely unexpected and delightful.

“It is a real honour and I’m sure I will make good use of the tasting flute.”

Also awarded at the 20th anniversary dinner was Chancellor George Osborne who received the Beer Drinker of the Year prize for his decision to scrap the beer duty escalator and take 1p off beer duty.

He was handed the award by former Chancellor Ken Clarke who was the first recipient of the prize in 1994.

In accepting the award, Mr Osborne said: “It is more than the cut in duty for beer. It is also a symbol that Parliament cares about this industry and Parliament cares about people employed in this industry.

“There are 650,000 people employed across the country and another 300,000 employed in the supply chain and agriculture and all the other things that go with supporting the industry.

“On behalf of all the members of Parliament here to all the representatives of the industry you can hopefully take what has happened this year as a recognition from all of us that we heard what you were saying and we listened and reacted.”

This website is paid for through privately-raised funds and is not funded through any parliamentary allowances or other taxpayers' money