Follow : Facebook Twitter Linkdin A+ A A-

01283 564934

MP’s delight as Burton health heroes chosen to represent West Midlands in NHS Birthday Awards

Friday 18th May 2018 (Andrew Griffiths)
MP’s delight as Burton health heroes chosen to represent West Midlands in NHS Birthday Awards

Burton’s MP Andrew Griffiths has expressed his delight that a local cancer care team has been named regional champion in a prestigious competition to mark the NHS’s 70th birthday.

Jyoti Shah and Sarah Minns from Queen’s Hospital in Burton were nominated for the Excellence in Cancer Care Award by Andrew, with the MP citing their lifesaving work diagnosing and fighting prostate cancer as his reason for nominating them.

Having been named champions by senior regional NHS experts, Jyoti and Sarah will now vie with other regional winners from across England for the national award, to be presented at a special ceremony in Parliament in July.

Andrew Griffiths said: “It was a real honour for me to nominate Jyoti and Sarah for their brilliant work.  They have saved the lives of many men in and around Burton through their prostate cancer diagnosis scheme.

“I know that everyone in Burton will share my delight and pride that they have been named regional champions for the West Midlands.  They are representing the thousands of staff and volunteers in the NHS who work day in, day out across our area to shape, deliver and support health and care services, and we’ll all be backing them to win the national award in July.”

The NHS70 Parliamentary Awards, sponsored by IBM and Teva, recognise the massive contribution made by the individuals who work in and alongside the NHS.

Launched in February, it asked MPs to find and nominate those individuals or teams they thought have made the biggest improvements to health services in their constituencies across ten categories.

From more than 750 entries, senior experts in each region have chosen ten outstanding nominations, which exemplify the best of what the NHS and its partners do day in, day out.

All of the champions will be invited to the national awards ceremony, which will be held on July 4th, the day before the NHS’s 70th birthday.

The ceremony will be hosted by Dr Sara Kayat, NHS GP & TV Doctor best known for This Morning, Celebrity Island with Bear Grylls and GPs: Behind Closed Doors.

The regional champions will now go forward to a final round of judging by a panel including the leaders of Royal Colleges, the Unison trade union, and the Patients Association – collectively representing millions of health and care workers and patients.

This website is paid for through privately-raised funds and is not funded through any parliamentary allowances or other taxpayers' money